Direct to content
Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

Embassy of Finland, London: Events calendar


38 Chesham Place
London SW1X 8HW
Tel. +44-20-7838 6200
English | Suomi | Svenska |  | 

Inner Voices; music of Sibelius and David Matthews

Sibelius Andante festivo
David Matthews Winter Remembered for viola and strings, Op. 86
Sibelius Rakastava – Suite for strings, triangle & timpani, Op. 14
Sibelius Presto in D for strings (from the string quartet, Op. 4)
David Matthews Adagio for strings, Op. 56b
David Matthews Three Birds and a Farewell, Op. 118 (World premiere)
Sibelius Kuolema, Op. 44 – Music for the original theatre production (incl. Valse Triste) (UK premiere)
David Matthews Total Tango for strings, Op. 80a

Performer(s): Sarah-Jane Bradley viola
English Chamber Orchestra
Paul Watkins conductor
Johnny Herford Baritone
Lucy Roberts Soprano

A rare opportunity to hear two significant premieres from the celebrated English Chamber Orchestra under its conductor-in-chief Paul Watkins.

They will deliver the first performance of David Matthews’s new opus, Three Birds and a Farewell, and also perform the UK premiere of the complete incidental music that Sibelius wrote for his brother-in-law Arvid Järnefelt’s theatre play Kuolema (Death), including the string version of the much loved Valse Triste.

Another Sibelian item, Rakastava (The Lover), is the composer’s finest work for string orchestra, exuding the serenity and grace of the Nordic landscape. Winter Remembered is a beautiful piece for viola and strings, written for Sarah-Jane Bradley in 2002.

David Matthews is a keen composer of tangos and tonight’s programme ends with Total Tango for strings - one of his best-loved works.

05/05/2012 19:30 - 05/05/2012 21:30


Street address
Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 T 020 7520 1490

Kings Place

Print this page

Updated 08/02/2012

© Embassy of Finland, London | About this site | Contact information