Suoraan sisältöön
Suomen ulkoministeriö

Suomen suurlähetystö, Lontoo: Tapahtumakalenteri


38 Chesham Place
London SW1X 8HW
Puh. +44-20-7838 6200
English | Suomi | Svenska |  | 

Pekka Kuusisto with Philharmonia Orchestra

The Philharmonia Orchestra performs music of Prokofiev’s exile and return in the final concert of the Voices of Revolution: Russia 1917 series.

`You are a revolutionary in music, we are revolutionaries in life. We ought to work together. But if you want to go to America I shall not stand in your way.’

So said a `People's Commissar' to Sergei Prokofiev, when the composer left to escape the chaos of the new Soviet Union in 1918. It would be 18 years before Prokofiev returned home permanently.

Two dramatic cantatas by Prokofiev were composed just before and after his self-imposed exile. Seven, They Are Seven (1917) takes its text from the Russian translation of an ancient Mesopotamian script.

The massive Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the Revolution, featuring an accordion orchestra, military band, megaphone and maxim gun, brings the series to an earth-shattering close.

In between, Pekka Kuusisto returns for his second performance of the season: Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1, composed in 1917.

Philharmonia Orchestra
Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor
Pekka Kuusisto violin
Maxim Aksenov tenor
Students from the Royal College of Music

Prokofiev: Seven, they are seven - cantata for tenor, chorus & orchestra, Op.30; Violin Concerto No.1


Prokofiev: Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution, Op.74

20.5.2018 19:30 - 20.5.2018 21:30


Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, Belvedere Road, London SE1

Linkit ja liitteet
Southbank Centre
Philharmonia Orchestra


Päivitetty 15.8.2017

© Suomen suurlähetystö, Lontoo | Tietoa palvelusta  | Yhteystiedot