Direct to content
Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

Finnish Schools - Embassy of Finland, London : Finland in Great Britain : Suomi Schools

EMBASSY OF FINLAND, London

38 Chesham Place
London SW1X 8HW
Tel. +44-20-7838 6200
E-mail: consulate.lon@formin.fi, sanomat.lon@formin.fi
English | Suomi | Svenska |  | 
Font_normalFont_bigger
 

Finnish Schools

The purpose of the Finnish Schools is to support bilingual children’s language learning and the expatriate children about Finnish culture.

The Finnish Schools strengthen the Finnish identity of those living in Britain, especially the identity of children of British-Finnish families. The Finnish Schools are important cultural hubs for all local Finns, Finnish-British families, and friends of Finland.

The purpose of the Finnish Schools is

  • to support the language learning and in the Finnish-British families
  • strengthen the Finnish identity
  • give information about Finland, Finnish history and geography
  • offer Finnish language training for children and adults.

Currently there are around 20 Finnish Schools operating in the United Kingdom and their sizes vary from ten pupils to almost one hundred pupils. All in all, there are approximately 500 pupils, 200 adult learners, and 70 teachers in the Finnish Schools in the UK.

Finnish Schools' contact details

BIRMINGHAM
Anna Vines, info(at)midlandfinns.co.uk
suomikoulu.co.uk

BRIGHTON
Hanna Drummond, hlahtevanoja(at)yahoo.co.uk
Mia Glass, brightfinns(at)gmail.com
brightfinns.com

BRISTOL
Kirsti Gibbs, kirsti.gibbs(at)blueyonder.co.uk
Nick Cockin, nick(at)finlandinbristol.co.uk
finlandinbristol.co.uk

CAMBERLEY
Minna Woodward, minna.woodward(at)btinternet.com
contact(at)suomikoulu.org
suomikoulu.org

CAMBRIDGE
Hanna Winberg-Watson, winbergwatson(at)gmail.com
info(at)cambridgesuomikoulu.org.uk
cambridgesuomikoulu.org.uk 

CARDIFF
Kaisa Pankakoski, kaisapan(at)hotmail.com
Virpi Ylänne, ylannevt(at)gmail.com
suomikoulucardiff(at)gmail.com
suomikoulucardiff.org 

CROYDON
Satu Francis, satufrancis(at)gmail.com
croydoninsuomikoulu.org.uk

EAST LONDON
Katja Kinnarinen, italontoonsuomikoulu(at)gmail.com
italontoonsuomikoulu.com

EDINBURGH
Anu Huhtinen, edinburghinsuomikoulu(at)gmail.com
https://edinburghinsuomikoulu.tumblr.com/

FROME
Pia Valtanen-Amies, pianet(at)mac.com

GLASGOW
Satu Baylan, contact(at)glasgowfinnishschool.org.uk
glasgowfinnishschool.org.uk

KINGSTON-UPON-THAMES
puheenjohtaja(at)fsok.org
paaopettaja(at)fsok.org
fsok.org

LEEDS
Tero Väänänen, tero.vaananen(at)iki.fi
www.facebook.com/thefinnishschoolinleeds

LEICESTER
Kirsi Tikkanen, kirsituomo(at)gmail.com
eastmidlandfinns.org.uk

LIVERPOOL
Marja Nurmikko, marjanurmikko48(at)gmail.com
liverpoolfinns.co.uk

LONDON
Inka Mustalampi, inka.mustalampi(at)gmail.com
lontoonsuomikoulu.com

MANCHESTER
Kari Henrik Tumelius, karihenrik63(at)hotmail.com
manchesterfinns.org.uk

NEWCASTLE
Lotta Väänänen, newcastlensuomikoulu(at)gmail.com

OXFORD
Helena Simons, oxford.finnish(at)googlemail.com
Oxfordin Suomi-koulun Facebook-sivu

PORTSMOUTH
Virva Conroy, virva.martikainen(at)hotmail.com
Eeva Hack, familyhack15(at)sky.com
Finnish school in Portsmouth Facebook group

ST ALBANS
Heni Järvi, suomikoulusta@gmail.com
suomikoulu.com

Print this page

This document

Updated 21/11/2017


© Embassy of Finland, London | About this site | Contact information